Running toward a cure … AGAIN

Once again I’ve joined The Leukemia & Lymphoma Society’s Team in Training (TNT). This is my fourth summer with TNT. People have asked me why I continue to do TNT — it’s a lot of work to fundraise and train for a marathon. Couldn’t I just do a marathon without TNT?

Sure, I could. But I want to do TNT. With TNT I run to raise funds and support The Leukemia & Lymphoma Society’s (LLS) mission of finding a cure for leukemia, lymphoma, Hodgkin’s disease, and myeloma, and improving the quality of life of patients and their families. One person in the United States is diagnosed with a blood cancer approximately every four minutes. New cases of leukemia, lymphoma and myeloma will account for 9 percent of new cancer cases diagnosed in the United States this year. Research funded by LLS has developed treatments and therapies that benefit patients with cancers other than blood cancers. LLS also has a program to provide financial assistance to patients in need; this program is supported entirely by public contributions. LLS receives no federal funding. In the 20+ years since its inception, TNT participants have raised more than $1 billion to support LLS’ blood cancer research and patient services.

Me, Equinox Marathon 2010

Me during the 2010 Equinox Marathon. Photo courtesy of Ned Rozell.

I also do TNT because of Stephanie, my sister who battled Hodgkin’s lymphoma for seven years before losing her fight. And because of my mother, Uncles Owen and Irv, cousins Michelle, Geetie, Shandi, JoLynn and Julie, and Dov, Lynn, Kathy, Skip, Marna, Sharon, Anne-Marie, Don, Connie, Andrew and … the list of family and friends with cancer continues to grow.

TNT helped me complete the 26.2-mile Equinox Marathon twice. The Equinox is one of the most difficult marathons in North America and right in my backyard. This year, in addition to participating in the Equinox Marathon & Relay in Fairbanks on September 17, 2011, I’m training for the Nike Women’s Marathon in San Francisco on October 16. I’ve committed to follow the training program and train with the team on weekends. I’m also dedicated to raising at least $2,500 in donations to help LLS further its mission.

You can help with my mission by making a generous, 100% tax-deductible donation to help me and the Team reach our goals. Any amount you give will help — it all adds up! With TNT, 75% of every donation goes directly to research and patient services. Plus, donations of $100 or more are eligible to receive one Alaska Airlines Mileage Plan mile for every dollar donated. My personal fundraising deadline is coming up, so I’d appreciate if you made your contribution before July 31. I will be able to accept donations after this date, and until September 6, but why wait?

Please go to my personal fundraising page to donate online quickly and securely plus learn more about my progress.  You will receive a confirmation of your donation by e-mail and I will be notified as soon as you make your donation.

Thanks in advance for your generous support!

Leave a comment